How to prevent Facebook from tracking your location on iPhone

How to prevent Facebook from tracking your location on iPhone

Facebook is now the leading social network on the market. The company has never stopped updating its social network to add up to a better user experience. Facebook is no longer restricted to uploading your photos and commenting on a post. You now can do a lot of things with Facebook. One such thing lies in the ability to tag your location.

In reality, Facebook includes a built-in feature called Nearby Friends that allows you to check in directly from your current location, so your friends and family know where you are at. While this may come in handy, one major drawback is the issue of privacy. If you have the feature enabled, Facebook keeps tracking your location, which may pose some risks.

Fortunately, you can easily turn this feature off if you find it annoying. This is a wise move amid reports of Facebook’s misusing users’ information. However, the process is not straightforward to many users. With that in mind, we are here to help.

In this tutorial, we are going to walk you through the steps on how to prevent Facebook from tracking you. Before we begin, note that the below-mentioned steps work with iPhone only.

  1. How to turn off location tracking in Facebook on your iPhone

Step one: First off, launch the Facebook app on your iPhone and then tap on Privacy

Step two: Next up, hit Location Services and then hit Facebook

Step three: Now just simply hit Never to complete the task.

  1. How to prevent Facebook from saving your location history

By default, Facebook automatically saves all of your checked-in locations, so it can quickly tag you the next time you visit it. While this is a great feature, many users may find it annoying. Here is how to stop it.

Step one: Launch the Facebook app from your home screen and then hit the More tab at the bottom right corner of the screen

Step two: Next up, scroll down a little bit and then hit Settings

Step three: Hit Account Settings from the popup menu and then select Location

Step four: Now just simply turn off the switch for Location History

  1. How to disable location-sharing in Facebook for iPhone

If you don’t want your friends to know where you are at, then you can easily turn off location-sharing feature. Here is how.

Step one: First off, launch the Facebook app on your iPhone and then hit the More tab

Step two: Scroll down a little bit and hit Settings

Step three: Next up, tap Account Settings and then hit Location

Step four: Once you are done, hit Location and then tap Nearby Friends

Step five: Now just simply turn off the switch for Nearby Friends.

Also read: How to check heart rate with Apple Watch

Got any questions? Let us know in the comments below.

Do you Like this Post?

Get Amazing Stories

Get great contents delivered straight to your inbox everyday, just a click away, Sign Up Now.

Leave a Comment